Dante - Di Michelino 150 sponsors

Corporate & Society Sponsors
Loquendo diamond package
Nuance gold package
ATT bronze package
Google silver package
Appen bronze package
Appen bronze package
Interactive Media bronze package
Microasoft bronze package
SpeechOcean bronze package
Avios logo package
NDI logo package
NDI logo package


Universit de Avignon
Speech Cycle
Universit di Firenze
Univ. Trento
Univ. Napoli
Univ. Tuscia
Univ. Calabria
Univ. Venezia


Comune di Firenze
Firenze Fiera
Florence Convention Bureau


12thAnnual Conference of the
International Speech Communication Association


Interspeech 2011 Florence

Scientific Committee

The conference organisers are indebted to the following people who made such a large contribution to the creation of the technical programme.

Technical Program Chairs

Special Sessions Chairs

Keynote/Plenary Sessions Chair

  • Giuseppe Riccardi ( Department of Information Engineering and Computer Science, University of Trento, Trento, Italy )

Tutorials Chair


Area Coordinators

  • Speech Perception and Production
    • Catia Cucchiarini - ( Language and Speech unit, Faculty of Arts, Radboud University Nijmegen , Nijmegen, The Netherlands )
    • Francesco Cutugno - ( Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II, Facoltà di Scienze Fisiche, Matematiche e Naturali, Napoli, Italy )
  • Phonology, Phonetics
    • Patrizia Bonaventura - ( Department of Psychological Sciences & Cognitive Science Departements, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, US )
    • Cinzia Avesani ( Institute of Cognitive Sciences and Technologies CNR, UOS Padova, Padova, Italy )
  • Para-/Non- linguistic Information
  • Language Processing
    • Pascale Fung ( Department of Electronic & Computer Engineering, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Clear Water Bay, Kowloon, Hong Kong )
    • Giuseppe Riccardi (Department of Information Engineering and Computer Science, University of Trento, Trento, Italy )
  • Analysis, Enhancement and Coding of Speech and Audio Signals
    • Dirk Van Compernolle (Department of Electrical Engineering, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Heverlee, Belgium )
    • Fabio Tesser ( Institute of Cognitive Sciences and Technologies CNR, UOS Padova, Padova, Italy )
  • Enhancement and Coding
    • Timothy J. Hazen ( Information Systems Technology Group, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, Lexington, Massachusetts, US )
    • Marco Matassoni ( FBK-IRST, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Trento, Italy )
  • Speaker and Language Identification
    • Larry Heck ( Microsoft Research, Microsoft, San Francisco , US )
    • Luciano Romito ( Department of Linguistics, University of Calabria, Arcavacata di Rende (CS), Italy )
  • Speech & Spoken Language Generation, Speech Synthesis
  • ASR - signal processing & acoustic modeling
    • Li Deng ( Microsoft Research, Microsoft, Redmond, WA, US )
    • Fabio Brugnara ( FBK-IRST, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Trento, Italy )
  • ASR - architecture, search & linguistic components
    • Enrico Bocchieri ( AT&T Labs, Florham Park, NJ, US)
    • Murat Saraclar ( Bogaziçi University, Electrical and Electronics Engineering Department, Bebek, Istanbul, Turkiye)
  • ASR - robustness and adaptation
    • Pietro Laface ( Dipartimento di Automatica e Informatica Politecnico di Torino, Torino, Italy)
    • Maurizio Omologo ( FBK-IRST, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Trento, Italy )
  • LVCSR and its applications
  • Technologies and Systems for New Applications
  • Spoken Dialogue System, Spoken Language Understanding, Speech Translation, and Information Retrieval
    • Imed Zitouni ( IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY, US )
    • Marcello Federico ( FBK-IRST, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Trento, Italy )
  • Application, Evaluation, Standardization, SL Resources
    • Lin-shan Lee ( Department of Electrical Engineering, Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan, R.O.C. )
    • Paolo Baggia ( Loquendo, Torino, Italy)
  • Special Session

Special Session Organisers


Special Event Organisers

  • Toomas Altosaar (Aalto University School of Science and Technology, Helsinki University of Technology, SF)
  • Etienne Barnard (North-West University, SA)
  • Anton Batliner (Friedrich-Alexander-University, Erlangen-Nuremberg, DE)
  • Christoph Draxler (Institute of Phonetics and Speech Processing, Munich, DE)
  • Sadaoki Furui (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, JP)
  • Jarek Krajewski (Bergische Universität Wuppertal, Wuppertal, DE)
  • Mark Liberman (Linguistic Data Consortium, Philadelphia, US)
  • Florian Schiel (University of Munich / Bavarian Archive for Speech Signals Services, Munich, DE)
  • Björn Schuller (Technische Universität München, Munich, DE)

Tutorial Organisers

  • Najim Dehak ( Spoken Language Systems - SLS Group at the MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory - CSAIL, US)
  • Gregory Druck(University of Massachusetts Amherst, Computer Science, US)
  • Kuzman Ganchev(Google Research, US)
  • Maëva Garnier (GIPSA-lab Grenoble, FR)
  • Joao Graca(University of Pennsylvania, US)
  • Mads Grasboll Christensen (Aalborg University, NL)
  • Michele Gubian ( Centre for Language and Speech Technology in Nijmegen, NL)
  • Stefan Hahn (RWTH Aachen University, DE)
  • Xiao Li (Microsoft Research, US)
  • Yang Liu(Univ. of Texas at Dallas, US)
  • Shoji Makino(University of Tsukuba, JP)
  • Sameer Maskey(IBM Research, US)
  • Ani Nenkova(Univ. of Pennsylvania, US)
  • Andrew Rosenberg (Computer Science at Queens College, CUNY, UK)
  • David Rybach (RWTH Aachen University,Computer Science Department, DE)
  • Hiroshi Sawada(NTT Communication Science Laboratories, JP)
  • Stephen Shum (MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory - CSAIL, US)
  • John Smith (University of of New South Wales, AU)
  • Gokhan Tur (Microsoft Research, US)
  • Joe Wolfe (University of of New South Wales, AU)